Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Drink Italian!

The Tradition of Living Beautifully, Issue #17

To celebrate our departure for Sicily tomorrow, where we’ll be gone for nearly a month and a half, (!!) I’m sharing this super easy, very delicious recipe for Caffè Leccese. I recently shared this to stories on Instagram and so many of you messaged asking for a recipe, I thought it’d be a joyful way to celebrate our voyage back to the homeland. :)

Caffè Leccese is a drink invented (so it goes) in the region of Lecce, in Southern Italy’s Puglia region. As with most traditional food and beverage items, especially Italian ones, there are many variations on this drink. Sometimes it’s served with almond milk, sometimes almond paste, and sometimes, as in this version, with almond simple syrup.

This is a go-to favorite summer drink in my house, as tasty and fun as an Aperol Spritz but without alcohol, it’s appropriate for a refreshing sip in an afternoon work break.

In the video above you’ll notice my simple syrup is brown, whereas simple syrups are normally clear in color; this is just because I use coconut sugar instead of white sugar. If you want a pure, traditional white syrup, just use white sugar in equal amounts.

I also don’t like things too sweet, so if you do, I would add more sugar. You can also double this batch, add more almond extract, or more espresso—it’s a very versatile recipe, and it’s so quick and easy to make, I hesitate to even call it a “recipe.”

I hope you make this and raise a glass to our upcoming adventure, which I plan to share with you. If you’re not already a paid subscriber, considering subscribing now! I’ll be sharing much of the journey, my thoughts, my impressions, right here on Substack.

The “recipe” is below!

Me and my Caffè Leccese

Almond Simple Syrup

What you’ll need:

1 cup filtered water

1/4 cup sugar (I use coconut sugar, which imparts a darker shade to the final syrup)

2 teaspoons almond extract

What to do:

Place all the ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a gentle boil. Stir, making sure all the sugar is incorporated and dissolved. Pour into a jar and seal. The syrup will keep in the refrigerator for several weeks to a month.

Caffè Leccese

What you’ll need:

Your best rocks glass

Some ice

Almond simple syrup (see recipe above)

1 shot of espresso

What to do:

Add ice to your glass. Pour about a quarter of the glass full with almond simple syrup. Add a shot of espresso and stir.

That’s it, folks. Enjoy!

Send us good wishes for good travels, please, as you enjoy your Italian coffee. :)

Thanks for being here with me, truly.

Dolores

0 Comments
The Tradition of Living Beautifully
The Tradition of Living Beautifully
Authors
Dolores Alfieri Taranto